Governing Body

Governors at Samuel Cody Specialist Sports College come from all walks of life.  As volunteers we give time to further the School’s development and make a positive contribution to education and the community.

Through collective discussion and continuous monitoring and evaluation of the School’s performance, decisions are made in the interests of cost effective management of the school, its direction and development.

We meet regularly throughout the year with the Headteacher and members of the Senior Leadership Team to help shape the future of Samuel Cody Specialist Sports College for the benefit of the students.

Full Governing Body Membership 2020-2021

NameCategoryAppointed byTerm of Office (Yrs)Term End DateCommittee membershipResponsibilitiesVoting Rights (if Associate Member)
Sharon ChinnappaHeadteacherBy virtue of position heldResources
Sheila ClaphamStaffStaff13 Nov 201712 Nov 2021Resources
Georgina CrawleyCo-opted governorGB29 Jan 201828 Jan 2022Resources
Robin GrayLocal AuthorityAuthority21 Oct 201720 Oct 2021ResourcesChair of Governors
Forum Rep
Resources Committee Chair
Donna GriffinAssociate MemberGBPersonnel
Debora GriffithCo-optedGB24 Apr 202024 Apr 2020Personnel
Early Years Rep
Ruth LeversCo-optedGB29 Jan 201828 Jan 2022Personnel
Vice chair
Curriculum Committee Chair
Michelle LockhartParent governorParents28 Sep 201827 Sep 2022ResourcesSafeguarding & Vulnerable Groups Governor
Hatty MasserParent Governor28 Feb 202025 Feb 2024Personnel
Aidan MurphyCo-opted governorGB25 Nov 201924 Nov 2023Resources
Sam SwinsteadCo-opted governorGB25 Nov 201924 Nov 2023Personnel
Personnel Committee Chair
Susan WoodsCo-optedGB3 Feb 20192 Feb 2023Resources
Governors who have left the GB during the last 12 monthsTerm ended
Sean VincentCo-opted31 Jan 2020
Anna DawsonHeadteacher31 Aug 2020
Helga Firth-BernardCo-opted governor31 Aug 2020
Shelley ReddallCo-opted governor31 Aug 2020
Linda TallonCo-opted governor31 Aug 2020

Full Governing Body Declaration of Interest 2020-2021

MemberDate ConfirmedEntityNature FromTo
Mrs Sharon ChinnappaSept 20Samuel Cody Specialist Sports CollegeEmployee1 Sep 2020Ongoing
Mrs Sheila Clapham
Sept 20Samuel Cody Specialist Sports CollegeEmployee01 Sep 2007Ongoing
Miss Georgina Crawley
Co-Opted Governor
Sept 20None
Mr Robin Gray
Local Authority
Sept 20Cove SchoolFoundation Governor

Mrs Donna Griffin
Associate Member
Sept 20Samuel Cody Specialist Sports CollegeEmployee01 Sept 2012
Mrs Debora Griffith
Co-Opted Governor
Sept 20Shawfield Primary SchoolEmployee1 Sep 2016Ongoing
Mrs R Levers
Nov 20None
Mrs Michelle Lockhart
Nov 20None
Ms Hatty Masser
Sept 20None
Mr Aidan Murphy
Sept 20None
Ms Sam Swinstead
Sept 20None
Mrs Susan Woods
Sept 20Samuel Cody Specialist Sports CollegeEmployee01 Sept 91Ongoing